How to Rune and Gear Your Monk at Level 20 in Guild Wars

How to Rune and Gear Your Monk at Level 20 in Guild Wars
Page content

Character Introduction: Monk

Guild Wars is a MMORPG that has captured people’s attention across the globe. Knowing how to properly rune and gear characters in Guild Wars for maximum potential is something everyone needs to know and learn. The Monk is a favorite Guild Wars character class.

The healers of the Guild Wars party, Monks, can provide either protection or healing skills. Utilizing energy a Monk will keep the group alive against multiple enemies that are attacking in groups or alone. The Monk’s comforting touch reaches from the tanks to casters alike.

Typically staying in the rear of a group to heal the Monk has also been known to fight as well. Beneficial buffs and damage skills available to Monks make solo runs and farms possible in Guild Wars. The most common second profession people use in Guild Wars is Monk.

Armor Selection

There are a great deal of different armor types to choose from that are designed specifically for the Monk character class. Level 20 characters always want to obtain “maxed” armor for their Monks. Maxed armor for a Monk is 60.

Here is a list of the different maxed armor types for the Monk and where to obtain each in the game:

  • Obsidian Armor: The Fissure of Woe

  • Asuran Elite: Rata Sum

  • Deldrimor Elite: Central Transfer Chamber

    Photo By Melina Ann Collison

  • Monument Elite: Eye of the North Outpost

  • Norn Elite: Gunnar’s Hold

  • Ancient Elite: Bone Palace

  • Sunspear Elite: Command Post

  • Primeval Elite: Throne of Secrets

  • Vabbian Elite: The Kodash Bazaar

  • Canthan Elite: Divine Path

  • Kurzick Elite: Vasburg Armory

  • Luxon Elite: Leviathan Pits

  • Judge Elite: Granite Citadel

  • Saintly Elite: Marhan’s Grotto

  • Woven Elite: Granite Citadel

  • Flowing Elite: Granite Citadel

  • Labyrinthine Elite: Marhan’s Grotto

  • Tyrian Standard: Droknar’s Forge, Wajjun Bazaar, and Boreal Station

  • Istani Standard: Consulate Docks or Command Post

  • Sunspear Standard: Consulate Docks or Command Post

  • Canthan Standard: Kaineng Center

  • Kurzick Standard: House zu Heltzer

  • Luxon Standard: Cavalon

  • Shing Jea Standard: Kaineng Center

  • Ascalon Standard: Kaineng Center

  • Krytan Standard: Bukdek Byway

  • Censor Standard: Droknar’s Forge

  • Dragon Standard: Droknar’s Forge

  • Sacred Standard: Droknar’s Forge

  • Star Standard: Droknar’s Forge

  • Woven Standard: Droknar’s Forge

Standard or elite armor plays no role in how efficiently the armor works, only the looks and status of the armor is determined by that.

Rune Selection

Photo By Melina Ann Collison

Runes are items that upgrade character armor in Guild Wars. Insignias work with runes by applying modifiers. Each armor piece can have 1 insignia and 1 rune applied to it; head, chest, hands, legs, feet. This allows for 5 runes and 5 insignias per armor set. You can remove and change runes on a character’s armor but it is very expensive to do so.

Runes can be obtained from Rune Merchants, loot from drops, or salvages from armor pieces. Some runes are stackable and others are not, however, if two of the same runes are applied the negative benefits will occur but not the positive. So if the runes are giving a +3 buff and -75 health and there are two on instead of getting +6 buff the player receives -125 health and +3 buff.

Monk Runes and Insignias


  • Wanderer’s Insignia

    Photo By Melina Ann Collison

  • Disciple’s Insignia

  • Anchorite’s Insignia


  • Minor Healing Prayers
  • Minor Smiting Prayers
  • Minor Protection Prayers
  • Minor Divine Favor


  • Major Healing Prayers
  • Major Smiting Prayers
  • Major Protection Prayers
  • Major Divine Favor


  • Superior Healing Prayers
  • Superior Smiting Prayers
  • Superior Protection Prayers
  • Superior Divine Favor

Attributes and Builds

A Monk’s attributes center around their core specializations as well as other second professions that are active. The maximum that a Monk’s attribute level can be, after equipping max armor and maximum runes, is 21 for PvE and 17 for PvP.

The build and attributes work together as one unit. The build will utilize skills focused on 2-3 attributes and the attribute points will be placed in those specific categories for maximum potential. Each class has a specific attribute strain that gives them special abilities not otherwise available to other players. The Monk’s special attribute is Divine Favor.

Photo By Melina Ann Collison

The basic Monk attributes explained:

  1. Divine Favor – Special attribute; each Divine Favor point allows Monk spells to heal for additional health.
  2. Healing Prayers – Increases the success and efficiency of healing spells and enchantments.
  3. Protection Prayers – Increases the success and efficiency of protection spells and enchantments.
  4. Smiting Prayers – Holy skills are benefited from this attribute chain, as well as signets for fighting and warding off evil.

Builds will be categorized as healing, protection, or damage and should always consist of 1 elite skill to compliment the rest of the items being used.

Second Professions and Elite Skills

When a Monk reaches level 20 they should obtain each second profession available to maximize their build and game potential. Different character specializations offer new skills and opportunities to be explored. There are 9 different second classes available to

Photo By Melina Ann Collison

the Monk; Dervish, Paragon, Assassin, Ritualist, Warrior, Ranger, Necromancer, Mesmer, and Elementalist.

Elite skills become available for capture with each game and zone that is entered in Guild Wars. Different bosses will be available in areas and have skills that players need to capture. Obtaining a Signet of Capture from a Rune Merchant players can kill an in game boss and acquire new skills. Each build will have one elite skill to be effective unless the build is utilized for farming purposes.

Combining Attributes, Builds, Runes, and Armor: Explained

Everything in Guild Wars from the armor, attributes, second professions, and weapons need to be coordinated. If a Monk is going to primarily heal then they would:

  • Obtain a weapon Req. 9-12 healing with stats for healing or divine favor
  • Get maxed armor, level 60, with headgear for healing
  • Runes and Insignias for healing and divine favor
  • Attributes in healing and divine favor
  • Second profession set as anything that compliments healing, example; Ranger’s have fast running skills so a Ranger could be chosen as the second profession and the running skill used for kiting in the game.
  • Elite skill from the healing chain.
  • Build that focuses on healing and divine favor skills.

However, if the Monk wanted to protect instead of heal they would follow the same concept but utilize protection attributes, protection weapons, protection armor, and protection skills. While a player can mix and match attributes and skills it is a better idea to have everything correlated for strength in the game.

When it comes to buying weapons, runes, or other items from players it can be difficult to understand MMO terminology. Check out combat terminology, general terminology, and character terminology.

Photo By Melina Ann Collison