What is the Difference Between Warrior Priests and Disciples of Khaine?

Page content


On the surface, the Empire’s Warrior Priests and the Dark Elves Disciples of Khaine may appear to be, in essence, the same class. However, once you get past the first 5 or so levels, the similarities between the two end. Yes, both are Healer archetypes that specialize in melee abilities to power their heals, but one is more effective at doing this while bolstering their group and the other while draining the enemy. Lets look at each class a little closer and touch on some of the highlights of their mastery trees and high-end abilities that set them apart. Note: When mentioning abilities, the Warrior Priest ability will always precede the Disciple of Khaine ability.

Basic Features of Both Classes

Armor Class: Medium Robe

Weapon Options: 2-Handed hammer, or, 1-handed hammer + offhand charm for Warrior Priest. Two 1-handed swords with dual wield, or, one 1-handed sword + offhand charm for Disciple of Khaine.

Base Melee Damage: Comparable

Special Mechanic: Righteous Fury / Soul Essence - Each class begins with 250 points of their special. Heals do not use Action Points, rather, they use special mechanic points. Performing attacks adds points to the special mechanic pool. Therefore, both classes rely on engaging in combat to heal effectively.


As mentioned above, the starting and early level abilities for each class are nearly identicle, but there is a theme that becomes more apparent as you progress through the levels that sets the two apart.

Starting Abilities

Bludgeon (WP) & Cleave Soul = basic melee attack

J****judgment & Fist of Khaine = basic ranged attack

Divine Aid & Restore Essence = basic heal

Supplication & Blood Offering = converts AP to Righteous Fury / Soul Essence

By level two, the classes start to set themselves apart. While Sigmar’s Fist and Consume Strength are very similar, the WP version applies a buff to his/her defensive target and the DoK version applies a smaller buff to his/her defensive target as well as a debuff to his target. Even at level two, the most significant difference between the classes is starting to show.

Level three abilities are exactly the same, but level four abilities again set the two apart. Throughout the levels you see that the two always have very similar abilities. However, WP’s tend to focus more on buffs while DoK’s tend to focus more on de-buffs. This remains true all the way up to level 40, and is especially apparent in morale abilities and tactics, which start to look very different at level 20+.

Mastery Trees

Another way in which WP’s and DoK’s differentiate themselves from oneanother is through their mastery trees.

Path of Salvation / Path of Dark Rights

The abilities granted by each of these trees drastically enhance the WP’s and DoK’s healing and buffing power. They are very similar to oneanother. Some of the notable differences are:

  • The 7 point career tactic for each adds an effect to healing. For WP’s, healing an ally also grants a 25% chance that they will restore AP. For DoK’s, healing an ally with Restore Essence also grants them 250 morale points.
  • The 15 point Rank 4 Morale ability for each is a group effect. For WP’s, it is a large, instant cast, heal over time spell. For DoK’s, it is an instant cast buff that boosts armor, dodge block and parry, and resistances.

Other Mastery Paths

The remaining two mastery paths for each class couldn’t be more different.

Warrior Priest

Path of Grace: A mastery path focused on melee attacks and protective effects.

Path of Wrath: A mastery path focused on melee attacks and weakening effects.

Disciple of Khaine

Path of Torture: A mastery path focused on melee combat.

Path of Sacrifice: A mastery path focused on siphoning power from your enemies.