WoW Cataclysm Worgen & Goblin Classes: New World of Warcraft Races Revealed at BlizzCon 2009

WoW Cataclysm Worgen & Goblin Classes: New World of Warcraft Races Revealed at BlizzCon 2009
Page content

New Horde Playable Race - Goblins

One of the biggest announcements of the BlizzCon 2009 weekend was the two new playable World of Warcraft races coming in the new expansion: Cataclysm. The Horde faction will be getting Goblins as a playable race. This particular faction of Goblins, after being driven from their home island of Kazan by the tumultuous sea (a product of the Cataclysm) find sanctuary on the Lost Isles, where they align with the Horde forces in an attempt to ensure their survival. This comes as a long-awaited change, and definitely excites most Horde players. It does, however, pretty effectively rule out the possibility of there ever being a third neutral faction in World of Warcraft.

World of Warcraft Cataclysm New Zone Map

Goblins will start out on the Lost Isles, located in the Northern Sea, with fairly close proximity to Azshara and Durotar. The classes available to Goblins are:

  • Death Knight
  • Hunter
  • Mage
  • Priest
  • Rogue
  • Shaman
  • Warlock
  • Warrior

New Alliance Playable Race - Worgen

World of Warcraft - Gilneas

Possibly met with even more enthusiastic reception than the Goblin announcement was the revelation that the Alliance forces would have Worgen joining their ranks. The Worgen are the Lycan-esque creatures of the World of Warcraft, with a rich yet mysterious lore surrounding them. In short, they were summoned using the Scythe of Elune by Velinde Starsong to aid in fighting the Burning Legion in the Felwood area. They were also summoned forth by the Dalaran Mage Arugal to aid in destroying the encroaching Scourge before they reached Gilneas, but the plan backfired and the human kingdom of Gilneas was completely transformed

into Worgen. It is hoped that more information about the Worgen will be revealed when the complete introductory quest line becomes playable. It is rumored that it is the “returned” Velinde Starsong who will facilitate bringing the Worgen into the Alliance.

World of Warcraft Cataclysm - Worgen Warrior

The classes available to be played by Worgen will be:

  • Death Knight
  • Druid
  • Hunter
  • Mage
  • Priest
  • Rogue
  • Warlock
  • Warrior

New Race and Class Combinations

World of Warcraft Cataclysm - Dwarf Shaman

One of the more unexpected announcements of the BlizzCon weekend was the revelation that existing races will be given new class options. This is intended to make the leveling from 1-85 experience more appealing, and encourages players to experience the revamped “old world” content. There were a few big surprises, and a bit of controversy, but all races but Draenei got a little bit of new class love and players, in general, are pleased.

New class/race combos - Horde:

  • World of Wacraft Cataclysm - Tauren Paladin

    Orc Mage

  • Undead Hunter

  • Tauren Paladin (holy cow!)

  • Tauren Priest

  • Troll Druid

  • Blood Elf Warrior

New class/race combos - Alliance:

  • Human Hunter

  • Dwarf Mage

  • World of Wacraft Cataclysm - Gnome Priest

    Dwarf Shaman

  • Night Elf Mage (Return of the Highborne)

  • Gnome Priest

Major Changes to Existing Classes - Warlocks and Hunters

While there will no doubt be some major changes to every class come WoW Cataclysm, two huge changes were announced for both of the games “pet classes”, and strangely enough these changes had absolutely nothing to do with their pets.


Warlocks will be receiving a major change as regards to their Soul Shards mechanic. The way it will work, is Warlocks will have three Soul Shards that are not items, but rather are used sort of like Death Knight Runes. They will be part of the User Interface. Using a Soul Shard is intended to be a big deal, either being used for a massive cooldown, or to power up the next spell the Warlock casts. These Soul Shards will regenerate when the Warlock leaves combat. Other ways to regenerate Soul Shards do exist, but haven’t been announced.


Hunters are going to be receiving a much needed change, along with their gear counterparts Enhancement Shamans. Instead of having Intellect and Mana, these two classes will instead use Focus, which will work almost exactly the same way as a Rogue’s Energy. Through this Blizzard wants to get rid of long cooldowns on the Hunter’s abilities, and streamline their gear set. Additionally their weapon ammo will be an item, not a consumable.

This post is part of the series: WoW Cataclysm Class Changes

The Cataclysm guide to World of Warcraft classes, talents and glyphs.

  1. A Guide to the New Race/Class Combinations in WoW Cataclysm
  2. World of Warcraft Cataclysm - Race and Class Announcements
  3. WoW Cataclysm Patch 4.0.1 - All Classes Guide to Talent and Glyph Changes
  4. World of Warcraft: Cataclysm Revised Class and Mastery Systems
  5. Cataclysm Mage Changes
  6. What Changes Did Hunters See in Cataclysm?
  7. Cataclysm Shaman Changes
  8. Changes to Death Knights in Cataclysm
  9. Death Knights in World of Warcraft: Cataclysm
  10. World of Warcraft Cataclysm Druid Changes
  11. Cataclysm Priest Builds in World of Warcraft